Culinary Exploits

So, since I am currently a stay-at-home-wife, I’ve been engaged in a lot of housewifery lately.

You know, things like cleaning. And doing laundry. And sewing stuff. And learning to embroider.

And lots and LOTS of cooking/baking.

Unfortunately I love making and eating food SO much that I neglect to take pictures of what I’m doing. I could take pictures of the leftovers for you, or the dishes/utensils that are still sitting in the sink from last night’s dinner….but I don’t think that would be quite as appetizing.

YUM.”].

the inside of our fridge [leftovers included]. YUM.

I will give you recipes and links though! 🙂

Creamy Chicken Enchiladas (from a recipe that I improvised, and it turned out fabulously! I’m really bad at dictating recipes….I’ll post iteventually.)

Green Smoothies (I just improvise these! Frozen fruit+milk or yogurt+handful of spinach. Fresh fruit if I have it. I’ll usually add a packet of raspberry Emergen-C too, for an added boost!)

Soft Pretzels (Auntie Anne’s Style)

Buttermilk French Toast  (I served with caramelized peaches, yum! did you know that 1C milk + 1T white vinegar + 5 minutes = buttermilk substitute? yay!)

Homemade Chicken Pot Pie (with THIS pie crust – my favorite! that pie is also a good one.)

Ham and Potato Soup (hubs LOVES it, I think it could be better, but is still good! I’d make it again, probably with different ham)

Amish White Bread (SO SO GOOD. BEST BREAD EVER.)

Chocolate Cake-In-A-Mug! (‘fudgier’ version. delish.)

My strategy for finding good recipes is REALLY complex….I go to google. Type in the recipe I want to find. And then I make the one with the highest rating and highest number of reviews. BAM. 🙂

ANYWAY. After making all of these delicious things this week….today has been a bust. I woke up feeling kind of gross (thanks husband, I still love you!) but decided I’d make another loaf of bread (because I may or may not have eaten almost the entire loaf while the hubs was at work today).

Umm, guess what. It wouldn’t knead. Then it wouldn’t rise. It was a tough, leathery MESS. I added some oil and am now encouraging it to rise, again. For the third time. I am determined to make it work out. I will cook that thing in my oven even if it ends up being an inedible mass of carbohydrates.

Then, I decided to make the virtually foolproof cake-in-a-mug again.

It also failed. It was disgusting.

So, even though this week as a whole has been a good week for my cooking skillz….today has not been fabulous.

And on top of that, I can’t get the most recent episode of Project Runway: All-Stars to load.

LAME.

Hubs said he would take charge of dinner tonight for me though. Even though he’s sick too. What a mighty good man 🙂 I can’t wait for him to get home.

Love –Rach

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

