Dopplegangers, round III

this is a conundrum I have discussed many times before.

I blogged about it here and here. [that’s how much of an issue it is, it’s warranted TWO whole blog posts!] and if  you are a good friend of mine, it is likely that you are sick of hearing about it by now, therefore you are excused from reading any further. kbye, besties!

I like to call this phenomenon, the “if there is any woman that has ever had brown hair and brown eyes, I am apparently identical to them” syndrome.

my husband has never previously expressed any symptoms of this queer phenomenon.

however, as we were sitting down to dinner last week, he stared at me for a little longer than usual.

and then he said it.

“you know, I figured it out. you look JUST like Demi Moore! only prettier. you’re like a pretty Demi Moore.”

I think our hair is similar in these photos. And that's about it.

*facepalm*

I laughed. I reminded him that I’ve heard that one before. and then I listed off some of the other celeb comparisons I’ve had.

AND HE AGREED WITH MOST OF THEM.

“I can see that! but Anne Hathaway is definitely your sister, not you.”

They both have very nice teeth that look similar. That is all.

*facepalm x 2*

I don’t know why this bothers me [and my sister] so much, having countless dopplegangers.

but it does.

possibly because it feels like you’re stripped of your individuality when you’re compared to others? that your beauty only counts because you look similar to someone the media/general public has deemed as beautiful?? or simply because WE LOOK NOTHING LIKE THESE PEOPLE??!!?!?!?!!?

I don’t know. I don’t spend too much time analyzing these things, because they don’t actually matter. it’s just a pet peeve, and a rather ridiculous one at that.

my husband still thinks I’m hotter than Demi Moore [and all other celebrities], and that’s good enough for me 🙂

Love — Rach

7 thoughts on “Dopplegangers, round III

  1. If you hate this, you should never, ever move to Japan! People were constantly telling me I looked like Julia Roberts or Drew Barrymore. Nope. I don’t come close to either … sadly! My Dad (apparently) looked like Rhet Butler. And my husband like Tom Cruise… It’s a national pass time to compare westerners with movie stars! After 2 years it was wearing a bit thin, but I guess there’s worse things they could’ve said about me!

    • Haha, that is so funny Jem! But I guess us Westerners tend to think all people of Asian descent look alike, so it makes sense that they can’t tell the difference between us either…
      I went to a university with a very diverse student body (only 2,400 students, but from over 73 different countries) – and I just so happened to have a good friend that looked slightly similar to me. We were asked if we were sisters almost every day! And a lot of my friends from Asian countries liked to compliment my nose. I thought this was so odd, because my nose is pretty big and I didn’t think it was that great! And then one of my Japanese friends explained to me that people will actually get plastic surgery to “enhance” their noses over in that part of the world….it’s so funny to hear about the different definitions of beauty 🙂

  2. haha that is so funny. can’t say i have this problem but i am fully aware of it. at least it is in comparison to two gorgeous ladies. a compliment right there.

  3. I’m blog stalking you, hahaha.
    But I have a story!
    The other day, I was at Fred Meyer, minding my own business and everything right? There was this lady that kept turning around and looking at me. I was weirded out but ignored it. Finally, we made awkward eye contact for the millionth time and she goes, “OH MY GOSH. Have you ever been told you look EXACTLY like Angelina Jolie?! Because you do!” in this loud obnoxious voice. And I go, “Uhm, no…. I haven’t…” all awkwardly. And she spends like 5 minutes telling me how pretty I am while I say thank you over and over until she shuts up and continues her grocery shopping.
    Hahaha.
    A couple weeks before that, I was sitting in the library with my boyfriend and this guy in one of our classes (I don’t know him very well, but he is socially awkward and followed us because he thought it’d be cool to hang out :P). They started listing off all the people I look like, and finally decided my doppleganger is Zooey Deschanel. All while I sat there wondering why people have this obsession with look-alikes. Because I get this all the time as well.
    *sigh*
    Anyway, your blogs make me laugh. Thanks for being an awesome person!

  4. I know I’m late to the party over here, but haaaaaay! (said in a sing-songy voice of course) Okay, and at least you’re told you look like famous people, which can (and should be) considered a complement. I have been told I look like everyone! Sisters, daughters, cousins, friends, this girl I knew from such and such…you name it, I look like every generic female ever. So awesome. This was mostly during my Albertson’s days, when I interacted with the general population daily.

    • Haaaay Aunt Jenn! 🙂 well, at least you look like people that they know and love, that means you’re lovable, right?? At least it wasn’t like “You look like my best friend’s sister’s cousin – oooh I hate her!!” right? Haha 🙂 interacting with the general population certainly does bring off interactions though…just the other day I had a customer tell me I had a good nose and then get extremely excited about it, because he was sure I hadn’t been told that in the last five years and never saw it coming.

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

