Spit-spot!

Me + Halloween + copious amounts of hot glue + about an hour of hard labor =

“Close your mouth, Michael, we are not a codfish! Spit-spot!”

Voila! Instant Mary Poppins! Practically perfect in every way 🙂

(except not really):

About two hours before the Halloween party I was supposed to be at, and after days upon days of brainstorming…I realized that all I had to do to complete this look was make a ‘dickie’ collar for a white tuxedo-style shirt I already had. So I got out my trusty glue gun and bits of fluff that I had lying around and temporarily modified my blouse! Yes…I was glued into the shirt for the night. But don’t worry – I got out! And the hot glue came off (I think)! And it was only SLIGHTLY off-center! Perfect? Not by any means. Good enough for me? YUP!

I paired the blouse with the skirt shown in this post (high-waisted style), low-heeled boots, and carried around a lovely umbrella! Err’body got it. It was so much fun!!

And no, I don’t have any pictures of the full getup myself….partially because my hubster was out of town that night (thus thwarting our original Kronk+Yzma costume plan…silly work trips!), partially because my bathroom mirror is currently the reigning champ of being-the-only-mirror-in-the-entire-house-excluding-hand-mirrors…

…and partially because I look about five months pregnant right now.

…..literally.

So yeah, I was a pregnant Mary Poppins, and maybe it was a little weird, and maybe I felt a little huge (mostly thanks to the multiple “WOW you don’t look pregnant at ALL!” comments that I’ve been getting…), but overall I think Halloween was a success this year : )

And oh yeah, I really am having a baby girl! She’s due at the end of February, and the hubs and I are SO excited! : )


I promise these photos are much more legitimate than this one from my sister’s 6th birthday party.

— Love, Rach

PS – I’ve tried to spread the news to everyone personally, but seeing as I’ve got a pretty bad case of the pregnant brain (IT’S REAL. NOT A MYTH.), I’ve probably forgotten a few of you that I love very dearly. If that is the case…I’m sorry! I just don’t feel like having random peeps all up in my business, so I’ve kept it off the social networking radar for the most part : )

14 thoughts on “Spit-spot!

  1. LOVE the costume! You are fantastic. Also, adorable. You are probably the most looking pregnant person I know (does that make you feel better 😉

  2. (I tried leaving you a comment yesterday, but for some reason it didn’t get posted. Sad.)

    Rachel, congratulations!! I had no idea you are pregnant! That is such wonderful news and I am so happy for you!

    I feel so bad that I didn’t send you the package filled with German chocolate as I promised! I am so, so sorry! Maybe I can make up for it by sending you a package filled with German Christmas candy? And really this time. Seriously. There’s no thesis distracting me now. 🙂

    • Aw Pia! Thank you!! 🙂 and seriously, don’t worry about the chocolate! It’s totally okay 🙂
      …but if you REALLY wanted to, I never say no to candy 😉 let me know and I’ll send you my address, but don’t stress about it one bit!

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

