Maternity dress!

So, before I was pregnant I was all gung-ho about being a stylish pregnant lady and making a bunch of cute maternity clothes for myself. I was going to be awesome.

That motivation has translated into me buying four items of maternity wear for myself. Total. One pair of jeans, one top, one dress, and most recently a new pair of yoga pants because the maternity leggings I had were getting scandalous.

This is partially because I have been blessed with wonderful friends who have given me clothes to borrow, and partially because I am not as good at dressing my pregnant body as I thought I would be. It probably also has something to do with the fact that I am just plain uncomfortable and opt to live in sweats/PJ’s unless absolutely required to put on a bra and real person clothes…
[but on the plus side, I finally found a good maternity/nursing bra and I am SO SO SO thrilled! Woohoo!]

ANYWAY! I have recently made a big decision on the maternity clothes front.

I am going to make myself a dress.

Yeah, yeah, I know, I only have six weeks left and I’m a little late getting started here…but hey. Better late than never, right?! And I can use it next time I’m growing a baby, too! Plus, I just really miss enjoying the clothes that I put on my body. And also my Momma and dear friend are throwing me a baby shower in two weeks, and that’s a good excuse to look cute, right?! So I’m still excited about it : )

I came across this vintage maternity pattern, and fell in love with it:

links to the original etsy shop!

Unfortunately, the pattern was sold already and wasn’t in my size.
But let’s be real here…I don’t really use patterns anyway ; )

Here’s what I’ve come up with instead!

wafflesandcereal | vintage-inspired maternity dress

the lace for the top (right) and deciding between two purple fabrics...a thin crinkle cotton (middle) or a light weight sateen-esque cotton/poly blend (right)

the lace for the top (right) and deciding between two purple fabrics…a thin crinkle cotton (middle) or a light weight sateen-esque cotton/poly blend (right)

fabrics+sketches+pattern!

fabrics+sketches+pattern!

better look at the "pattern". if you'd like to learn how I do this...come to my house sometime because I can't really explain it via the internet :P

better look at the “pattern”. if you’d like to learn how I do this…come to my house sometime because I can’t really explain it via the internet : P

Ta-da! I already had these fabrics in my stash (hooray)! Then I found a pattern (also in my stash) that had a bodice similar to what I wanted to use for the yoke, traced it onto my trusty aisle runner (which I own specifically for pattern-tracing purposes), modified it just a little, and I think it’s going to work brilliantly. We shall see.

I figure putting this up on my blog will encourage me to actually finish it, haha : )

And also, I can ask your opinion on which fabric I should use for the body of the dress!

I have two fabrics that I’ve thrifted, that are almost the exact same color but are two very different materials. #1 (in the middle) is a very thin, crinkle cotton – fairly standard. I’d probably need a lining with it. #2 (on the right) is kind of hard to describe. It’s silky-ish, but I’m fairly certain it’s polyester, and it has a matte sort of sheen to it. It’s not heavy weight, but not terribly light. I think I would call it a sateen??
There are pros and cons to both – I think #1 would end up making a more casual dress that could be ‘dressed up’, and would probably be more kid-friendly. #2 would be a touch fancier, and I don’t know how well it does with stains (though it is machine washable).

Thoughts/opinions??? I’d love to hear them!

Happy Wednesday!

Love, Rach

PS – if any legitimate seamstresses happen across this…I apologize! My method is in no way “correct” and the mixtures of fabrics I’m using would probably be frowned upon by fashion design instructors or something. But, I’m always happy making what I make and that is what matters πŸ™‚Β 

7 thoughts on “Maternity dress!

  1. oh my gosh, Rachel!! YOU ARE AMAZING!! I got a sewing machine for Christmas and I am so so excited, but seriously, my biggest concern is how I am going to make a hooded towel for my sister-in-law’s baby shower. You’re making a freaking dress!! I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    • Aw thanks Alisha!! You’re too kind! I’m sure your towel will be the bomb πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ it just takes practice! I’ve been sewing and faking my own patterns for a long time, so they usually turn out okay these days πŸ˜› I like what Bob Ross once said: “Talent is just a pursued interest.” So true!
      (and yes…we may have been a little Bob Ross obsessed over here lately…but he’s just so happy and soothing and zen! I love that guy! hahaha)

  2. I say you make it in both and then send me your least favorite one πŸ˜‰ haha just teasing. I’m not preggers yet but hopefully in the next couple months! Still trying to convince the hubby…..

    • I’d totally do that if I had enough of the white material! πŸ˜‰ And if it actually turns out well…haha I’m a little nervous about it at this point (about 75% done!)
      And babies are AWESOME. Come on, Dylan!! Good luck πŸ™‚

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

