life off the grid.

It’s been nearly three weeks since I nearly eliminated my online presence.
And you know what??

I am absolutely loving it.

I did go through withdrawals, and have periods of time when I would pick up my phone and stare blankly at it for a moment when I realized I had nothing to “do”.
But now? I don’t even miss Facebook/Twitter/Instagram/Pinterest. I don’t think I ever want to go back. I set up a Chrome extension to block the websites just in case I caved and tried to log in, but after a test run to make sure it was working, I haven’t even thought to visit any of the sites.

Well, okay, I did re-activate my Pinterest account for all of five minutes to look at my boards again and see if there was anything I’d pinned that I was interested in purchasing for my birthday. There wasn’t. I then remembered that I had survived my entire life without Pinterest, and realized I did not need to “curate boards” in order to know what my personal style is or to keep track of recipes. And I promptly deactivated my account again.

Now, I am still just as good at wasting time as I was before falling off the grid. I still check Bloglovin a couple times a day, and should probably weed through the blogs I follow. I’ve found good books that while away the hours nearly as well as checking Instagram. I have friends that actually talk to me (gasp!) and spent about 3 hours of today chatting on the phone and texting them. But overall, it is an improvement, and I am content!

I’ve been pleasantly surprised at the feedback I’ve gotten for this decision. If anyone thinks I’m nuts, they certainly haven’t told me so! I’ve had quite a few good face-to-face conversations with people about “unplugging”. A surprising number of dear friends got in touch with me right when I announced my decision, and have made an effort to keep up with the haps. I have picked up a fair number of pen pals as well, which is a lot of fun! And people even remembered my birthday yesterday without Facebook to remind them πŸ˜‰

I feel very fortunate that I am able to take this leap. I completely understand that social networking is entirely necessary these days – it’s practically essential to any modern business or livelihood. I am so blessed to be able to care for my daughter and our home each day. I am blessed with a rich network of friends and family nearby that keep me sane on a daily basis, a well as friends and family who are further away but excellent at keeping up correspondences. My life is so, so good Β and I thank the Lord for it every day πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “life off the grid.

  1. I think you are incredibly inspiring for doing this. However I have no desire to go completely off the grid, only have the ability to better control myself. I feel like social media is the way I connect with others the most. As much as I wish that were different it’s just how my life is right now. Anyway, I love reading you blog and getting to know you Rach. You are one awesome woman.

    • Thank you Keli!! Honestly, deleting everything isn’t for everyone, and I totally understand that. I mean, social media exists for a reason! It’s so useful! And I have some dear friends that currently work for Facebook and it’d probably be nice if they kept their jobs πŸ˜‰ but thank you, I’m glad it’s inspiring, and I’m glad it’s working for me!! And I am all for celebrating all month long πŸ™‚

  2. I have so much stuff pinned….I’m not sure I could ever delete it because I hate having to search for new recipes haha. And it’s nice for crochet patterns too. I do miss instagram at times, when I want to take a picture and upload it quickly, but I haven’t gone back yet. I think it’s awesome you’ve stuck with it!!!

    • Thanks Amber!!
      That’s what I thought about Pinterest too – I loved keeping recipes there! But I also love cookbooks and searching for recipes, so I don’t mind having to actually crack open my neglected cookbooks. So that’s probably why it’s still working for me! I’ll be honest though I’ve considered creating a ‘secret’ Pinterest account where I don’t follow anyone, just for the organizational value! I liked organizing my Internet junk that way! Haha πŸ™‚

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

