Saturday Night Musings

Current LDS General Relief Society Presidency [image c/o LDS.org]

  • Just got home from the General Relief Society Meeting not too long ago — it was wonderful! I loved all of the talks, but Linda S. Reeves really got me. I feel like they addressed a lot of the current issues that are troubling Sisters around the world, without directly addressing them. It was just so beautiful, and the hymn arrangements brought a tear to my eye as well πŸ™‚
  • Speaking of current events — a dear friend of mine recently started this blog! Empowered LDS Women. Stories of women who have found fulfillment and purpose through the gospel of Christ and the LDS (Mormon) church. I like it a lot.
  • On a related note, I’m also starting to contribute to another blog, Heavenly Homes and Forever Families, written by my friend Hannah! My very first post went up today, just a smidge more on gender equality, Empowered LDS Women, and my feelings on these matters πŸ™‚ But I’ll be posting some of my sewing adventures there in the near future! I’m excited!
  • Wow I just got real religious on you all. Guess you know who I really am and what I really spend most of my time thinking about now πŸ˜‰
  • Let’s talk about family Halloween costumes. Current ideas: Yzma+Kronk+baby squirrel, Luke+Leia+baby Yoda, Aragorn+Arwen+baby Hobbit, Rex (Kwon Do)+Starla+their fictional baby. Your votes (if you can even understand that shorthand)?
  • I’M ACTUALLY GETTING THE HANG OF KNITTING. This is a big, huge, fat deal. I’ve tried so many times! This bandana cowl is going to be my first project….many, many thanks to my incredible sister-in-law for actually teaching me to knit and helping me adjust the gauge and such. She’s got some serious skillz. One of the many reasons I’m glad we’re family πŸ™‚
  • So remember that quest about the minty chocolaty ice cream??? Yeah, it’s still happening, I’m just lazy. Look for something coming your way on Monday πŸ™‚
  • In the spirit of TQFTMDMCCIC, I tried this shake on Friday:Β Gott'sBut the bigger story here is thatΒ Gott’s Roadside is opening a location in Palo Alto on Monday [SO EXCITING] but my friend Jayna happened to discover they were doing free lunch last Thursday in order to train their employees! So, that was awesome. The shake was good. So was the burger. The sweet potato fries and ranch were interesting.
  • ALSO it’s been sort-of cold enough to wear scarves!!!!!! MY FAVORITE!
    photo 2 (3)

    This particular beauty made by the one and only Jubilant Jessi [click through to her blog]!

     
  • Okay, I think that’s about all that I need to unload right now. Except that I really want to tell you all that I had the erm, enlightening, experience of using a Diva Cup for the first time today. I think I like it. I just don’t like the reason for needing it πŸ˜›

Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend! πŸ™‚

Love, Rach

10 thoughts on “Saturday Night Musings

    • I LOVE THAT SCARF. πŸ™‚ and that costume gets my vote too! But unfortunately I don’t always get my way around here…something about other people having “opinions” or something like that πŸ˜‰ there will definitely be pictures of whatever happens though. Also I did some test Yzma makeup the other day, so even if that’s not what happens…there is a photo of that πŸ˜›

    • My Mom uses Softcup/Instead! Haha. She actually had bought the Diva Cup to try and see what she liked better, but never ended up opening it and just gave it to me. But it was the “after childbirth” size, so I had to wait until now πŸ˜›

  1. I vote for Yzma Kronk baby squirrel!

    I kept trying to comment on all your LDS feminism posts but none of them worked. So I’ll just comment here. I love how understanding you are of what other women’s situations might be. You and I have been blessed that our interests and skills happen to align with tradititional gender roles. (Although I tend to think that ANY skill can be a womanly/homemaking skill.) As I have had more and more callings in the church and in Relief Society, I can’t stand when people say that the LDS religion doesn’t place the same importance on women as men. Actually, in my current ward the men, including the bishop, practically worship the sisters. The sisters do SO MUCH and are such a vital component of the ward family. There is a perfect balance that can only be achieved when women and men work together equally.

    And now, as a new mother, I laugh at anyone who suggests that motherhood is somehow less than priesthood. This stuff is intense! And WONDERFUL. And my last point: My husband said today, “But if women get the priesthood, what will be the point of men?? They won’t need us at all!”

    Oh yay you tried the Diva Cup! I loved mine. Much less environment guilt. Made me cramp less, too! Not looking forward to having to use it again though πŸ˜›

    • Mandapanda, I just love you!

      It’s true – we are in a really lucky situation since we’ve both been dying to be Moms and love to sew/cook/make homes look pretty/etc. So the traditional gender role or women is pretty great for us!!
      But I think that even if you hated all of those things and have never wanted to be a Mother or a home maker, the Gospel still has a lot to offer. I think it irritates a lot of women (and others) to hear the traditional gender roles emphasized by the General Authorities – they’re frustrated that unique situations and circumstances go seemingly unrecognized. But guess what? They’re GENERAL authorities! They speak generally about the fundamental doctrines of the Gospel, to the general population of the church. With 15+ million members, there is no way they could instruct on each and every unique situation to be found within the lives of all members worldwide. It’s between you and the Lord to figure out how God’s plan applies to you. Just because the gospel generally emphasizes marriage/family/gender roles/etc, doesn’t mean there isn’t a place for you within the church if you have none of those things.

      And yes! Motherhood! Woohoo!!! I know that if I did not stay home and care for our home and baby, my husband couldn’t go and work at the job he enjoys and support our family as well as he currently does. It’s awesome to share the burdens of running a household, however you decide to divvy it up. It’s just nice not to have to do it all on your own πŸ™‚

      Haha I’ve been meaning to text you about the Diva Cup! It was uh, interesting. I think I like it, and I’ll definitely keep using it, but I had some issues πŸ˜› hopefully you get a nice long break before needing yours again!

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

