On Being Beautiful.

[I promise this isn’t as vain and facetious a post as the title may imply, just bear with me. and enjoy some baby photos for once!]

IMG_0934

Just look at that beautiful wee babe. Isn’t she amazing?! I love her so, SO much. I hope she never sees herself as anything but the beautiful human being that she is.

So, I have vowed not to see myself as anything but beautiful either. 

I will not be the mother who hides when she sees a camera. I will not be the mother who critiques every photographic version of herself. I will not be the mother who despairs when others see her when she first wakes up. I will not be the mother who is embarrassed to be seen in a swimsuit. I will not be the mother who cannot accept a compliment.

IMG_0899

I will not be the mother who does not believe her children, when they tell her she is the most beautiful person in the world. Because didn’t we all think that about our mothers/mother figures at some point?

Body image is contagious, and I’d rather pass on a good one.

IMG_1150

She is worth it.

It’s not going to be easy, but those are my goals. That is who I would like to become. That is someone I think we all could become – women and men, mothers or not – because we are all beautiful. Each and every one of us. And it’s time we start seeing ourselves that way.

Speak kindly about yourself. Don’t criticize your physical features. Treat your body right. Accept what is there and learn to love it. Don’t criticize others either. Get rid of the bathroom scale. Take lots of selfies. Grow to be comfortable in your own skin.

We are worth it.

love, rach
*photo cred goes to my amazing sister! you should hire her and stuff. she is BRILLIANT.

9 thoughts on “On Being Beautiful.

  1. Reblogged this on kel and commented:
    First time trying the Reblog option on wordpress. I loved this post by my sweet friend Rach. She is wise beyond her years. This is something I struggle with. I know I’m not ugly and I know that we are beautiful in so many ways. I see it in so many women I know but I still struggle to see it in myself. I wish I could be this kind of person for my daughter.
    Enjoy.

  2. Yes yes yes and YEESSSSS!!!! 😀
    I feel the exact same way. I love the way you worded everything. Everyone deserves to feel beautiful, including ourselves! I hope I can set the same example for my kids, because we can’t teach our kids to love themselves without first loving OURSELVES.
    Yeah, loved the post and especially love you!! 🙂

  3. I LOVE this. honestly I was just thinking about this concept yesterday. thank you for putting it into beautiful words. it almost made me cry. I feel the same way about my little babe, I never want her to feel anything but beautiful.

    • Aw you almost made me cry by telling me you almost cried! Isn’t it crazy to realize all of our insecurities can pass on to our kids too?? Hopefully we can make our homes wonderful happy awesome places so when the world is a big jerk we can bring our babies home and remind them how beautiful they are 🙂 you are an awesome mother! Summer is so lucky!!

  4. You’re awesome. And I love you. And I think you’re beautiful! Plus you do have a gorgeous daughter. I hope my future children are as cute as yours. 🙂 This is a wonderful philosophy though! I think I may steal it from you… 😉

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

