TQFTMDMCCIC: In Space! [and a GIVEAWAY!]

Okay, so this won’t be nearly as exciting as Muppets In Space, or as intense as watching Gravity in IMAX, or anything like that…But it’s still pretty dang interesting.

I have eaten astronaut food, without even leaving the atmosphere. Or my own kitchen, for that matter. And you can, too!

I give to you: Astronaut Ice Cream.

IMG_0009

THE DISH: Freeze-dried mint chocolate chip ice cream! It is packaged in slitted paper sleeve, sealed within an air tight pouch. It is often already broken into pieces upon opening, which is not a bad thing, as you don’t really “bite” into it. Well, you could, but it would just break a piece off rather than giving you a clean bite. It’s definitely not a texture I’ve ever encountered in something edible before.

AstronautIceCream_2 AstronautIceCream_3

THE EXPERIENCE: It melts in your mouth! Since it re-hydrates with your saliva [ew, but really that’s what happens], it’s like getting all of the deliciously melty bits from the bottom of your sundae bowl. Without actually eating the cold ice cream first. At first you’re kind of like “Oh my goodness, did I just eat CHALK?!” but then it melts and tastes pretty darn good and you’re no longer worried about that whole chalk-thing. If you suck on it, it simply melts into a puddle of sweetness. If you chew it, it can get stuck in the surfaces of your teeth, if you like that sort of time-release-candy sort of effect. It can leave your hands slightly sticky, but doesn’t leave a residue like unto Cheetos or Doritos, so never fear!

AstronautIceCream_4

THE PROS: I imagine this could be a boon to people with sensitive teeth! No cold shock. And if you’re prone to dripping/melting ice cream cones, Astronaut ice cream leaves you with no fears on that front. It will not melt one bit. Also, the chocolate chips in this flavor melt at almost the same rate as the ice cream, which is a cool mouth feel! Also, the novelty of the thing is just….awesome. And if you’re planning on having an anti-gravity adventure any time soon, this would probably be a good snack option. Just sayin’.

THE CONS: Well, it’s not the best MCCIC I’ve ever tasted. But it isn’t bad! I could survive astronautic life if this were the only ice cream option available to me. And it’s such a fun experience. I will admit it was almost too weird at first, but it grew on me. I sampled some with my family around Christmas as well, and their experiences were similar! Distinctly odd, but the time it was gone we all wanted more.

OVERALL RATING: 3/5
It’s fun and weird and worth trying! But I do live on earth, and I prefer ice cold ice cream, and it is kind of pricey to have as a regular treat. But it would be a freakin’ awesome party favor at an outer space/astronaut party!

AstronautIceCream_5

Giveaway is now closed!

AND HERE’S THE KICKER: I have two pouches of this funky fabulous treat to give away to one lucky reader!! The flavors are neapolitan and chocolate-chocolate chip. Both quite delicious in their own right!
TO ENTER, simply leave a comment telling me what you think the weirdest part of living in outer space would be.
Giveaway is open to any resident of the United States of America — however, if you are under 18, please ask your parent/guardian’s permission and use their email address to post a comment. Be sure to enter a current/working email address in the comment form! The winner will be drawn randomly [using random.org] and contacted by email for shipping information. I am able to view the email address you register your comment with, so it is not necessary to type your email in the comment.
Giveaway will close on Saturday, June 7th, at 12:00am PST.

So, have at it! Tell me what you think about an astronautic life! Tell your friends to tell me too! Because picking a random number between 1-3 is not very much fun, you know ; )

love, Rach

DISCLAIMER: I bought this stuff myself and am not being compensated in any way! Is for fun. If anyone could be thanked for “sponsoring” this post, it would be my bro, Jacob. He is a pretty cool dude. 

[see previous ice cream reviews here!]

 

7 thoughts on “TQFTMDMCCIC: In Space! [and a GIVEAWAY!]

  1. Hmmm.. aside from the cool factor of being able to float in space, as well as enjoy ice cream apparently with ease, I’d probably say the pits of being in space would be the “blackness” of it. Sure the sun’s out there with you, but it doesn’t exactly light up the galaxy if you know what I mean. I think that’d freak me out. Kind of like a deep lake or ocean freaks people out. It’d feel like that to me. Haha.

  2. Reblogged this on kel and commented:
    Reblogging my friend Rachel again. Check out her post on astronaut ice cream and comment to win your own. 🙂

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

