Who AM I??

So, let me tell you all about how my life got flip-turned upside down…

Okay so it’s not really THAT dramatic. I didn’t get into any fights and I’m not moving across the country. I’ve just had a major change of heart.

Allow me to wax nostalgic on you here for just a sec.

When my sister was in middle school, she joined the track team and ran hurdles. I was inspired by her athleticism, and decided I should start running too. I had always hated running, but had gotten to the point of ALMOST not hating it once, when I had a friend to jog with in gym class.

So, I decided that my sister would run with me and that I would totally be the star of my high school track team next year. I started off with a great runner’s high!

I made it less than two blocks before being completely and totally wiped out.

And no, I’m not talking about city blocks. I’m talking neighborhood blocks, in our funky Seattle suburb, which really amounted to less than 100yds. More or less. I had no desire to go on, or to push through the pain, and I developed shin splints.

That story basically sums up my lifelong relationship with running.

But today – I find myself having gone running consistently for two months, beginning triathlon training today, and running my first 5k on Saturday. Also I went to a fancy running store and told them to tell me why my feet were hurting and then bought some expensive shoes (which I love).

WHO DO I THINK I AM?!?!??!?!?!!?!?!?

Now, this does not mean I am fast or athletic. I am down to a pretty consistent 12 minute mile, and that’s probably where I’m going to stay. I rarely run for over a mile, 2 miles is my max at this point, so yeah I’m a little nervous for that 5k. I still have little desire to push through the pain — I think my pain threshold might be slightly altered after bearing/birthing a child and this is why it’s easier for me ; ) Also, I have the raddest group of friends here, who are always encouraging me to be healthier and joining me for slow-stroller-jog-walks!

ANYWAY. Just wanted to let you all know I’ve apparently lost my marbles. Hopefully I’ll be able to take a break from my insanity often enough to update you on my adventures! Thanks for reading this blog of mine. You’re the best.

love, rach

4 thoughts on “Who AM I??

  1. So proud of you, Raycho!
    I’ve only gotten to the point where I don’t absolutely hate running a couple of times, and still haven’t done a 5K (I’m totally wearing a 5k shirt right now like I have though. Hah!). Good luck! You’ll totally rock that race, in the best sweaty, painful way possible!

  2. girl your marbles are rolling along right beside you. Kade and I just recently started running everyday… oh my word, I despise it. Especially since he was along distance runner… hahah it makes me look even slower than normal. But I am slowly starting to come around after two weeks. Good luck! Cant wait to hear all about it!

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

