M.I.A.

I really do have things that I want to blog about, but whenever I sit down to type, I become overwhelmed by the mountain of events/thoughts/ideas that I haven’t shared…..so I don’t end up writing anything at all. Great strategy, right?? 🙂

I also haven’t been sure what I want to do with this blog, or how I want to tell my stories. Things have been challenging for me in the mother ‘hood lately, and I don’t know exactly how I want to write about it in this space.

I know I want to remember these times and document the things I’ve been learning. I especially want to pump a fist of solidarity to the other parents in the trenches alongside me. But I’m not quite sure what I want to say or how to make it meaningful or how to make it so it’s not such a downer to read about – because life really is wonderful even when it IS challenging! I am extremely happy and my days are full of joy. I can feel myself becoming a better person and I love it (even if it isn’t a comfortable process).

But the difficult times –> re-organizing priorities –> blogging falling to the rock bottom of my To Do list.

So for now, I will leave you with this quote I love:

d2a85c9adc7dc82f3711788d4aed6332

taken from THIS awesome talk

So much truth right there. I feel like I’ve been in “survival mode” for so long now — I used to hate it, but now I see it as an opportunity to really dig in and analyze what is most important in life. I like to think of it as a minimalist lifestyle challenge 😉 I may not have a minimalist/un cluttered home yet, but I have learned that my kids can live with one bath a week and that it’s not necessary to actually fold their clothes. SCORE.

love, rach

 

3 thoughts on “M.I.A.

  1. The fact that you are learning these important lessons so early makes incredibly happy for you. It took me many more years to learn them myself. Those images we see of the perfect home, the perfect husband, the perfect kids, and the perfect you, are a bunch of B.S. I try not to think too much about what I would have done differently because it’s not really worth my time and energy but I wouldn’t have minded coming to some realizations sooner.
    We are who your Heavenly Father wants us to be and all that superficial stuff doesn’t matter. Have fun with your kids and your husband. Teach them the gospel and love them, love them, love them. That’s what matters.

  2. Oh my goodness this is exactly me. I mean seriously everything you said I was saying to myself “this is what I would write on my blog if I ever wrote on it anymore” 😉 Motherhood is so hard sometimes, but it’s beautiful and amazing and worth it. But some days…. well, you know 😉 Anyway, I love you. You are one of my favorite people in the whole world because of the things you choose to care about.

  3. You are fantastic and I can only imagine how hard it is to have two little ones at home. You’ve totally got this (and I don’t always get around to folding our clothes either… and there are only two of us…). And when you have a few seconds for an update, know that I’m super looking forward to it 🙂

comments are the beeeest. aka you're the best. thanks :)

